0

Enter your keyword

Online Event – “Ruben Salazar: Man in the Middle” on OVEE

Transforming audiences into advocates

Online Event – “Ruben Salazar: Man in the Middle” on OVEE

Date:
Time: 10:00 pm

ruben_salazar_inviterecreate_online

Tuesday, October 7 at 10 PM (ET), 9 PM (CT), 7 PM (PT) on OVEE

Michon Boston moderate the discussion during the screening with the filmmaker, Phillip Rodriguez. Log on to the OVEE (Online Video Engagement Experience) October 7 at this link: bit.ly/ovee_RubenSalazarMIN

Ruben Salazar: Man in the Middle, a PBS documentary, examines the life and mysterious death of pioneering journalist Ruben Salazar. At the heart of the story is Salazar’s transformation from a mainstream, establishment reporter to primary chronicler and supporter of the radical Chicano Movement of the late 1960s. Killed under mysterious circumstances by a law enforcement officer in 1970, Salazar became an instant martyr to Latinos — many of whom had criticized his reporting during his lifetime. Adding to the Salazar mystique is that the details of how he was killed have been obscured in the ensuing four decades since his death.

Find out more about the Ruben Salazar story including classroom resources on pbs.org. An important chapter in Chicano American history.